Views sought on the future of South Tyneside

Coun Allan West

Coun Allan West

9
Have your say

Council chiefs are calling on residents to have their say on the future of South Tyneside.

The next stage of public consultation for the new Local Plan, which will determine development over the next 20-25 years, will get underway later this month.

The plan will set out where new homes, businesses, shops and leisure facilities will be built, while also protecting our countryside, open spaces and historic environment.

All residents and businesses are being asked for their views.

Coun Allan West, Lead Member for Housing and Transport, said: “This consultation is about planning for our future homes and jobs.

“Following our strategic land review assessment, we’ve drawn up a series of maps illustrating which sites we think are likely to be the most suitable and sustainable for potential development.

“We value local people’s views so I would encourage people to get involved and share their opinions with us.”

Consultation will run until June 30.

Council officers will be attending the five Community Area Forums to provide information and display materials.

Drop in sessions will also be held at the following locations:

Tues 24 May 4pm – 7pm Jarrow Library – Cambrian Street, Jarrow NE32 3QN

Tues 31 May 6pm – 8pm Cleadon Village Hall – Sunderland Road, Cleadon SR6 7UR

Sat 4 June 10am – 1pm Cleadon Park Library–10 Prince Edward Road, South Shields NE34 8PS

Sun 5 June 11am – 2pm Haven Point Leisure Centre – Pier Parade, South Shields NE33 2JS

Tues 7 June 5pm – 7pm Hedworthfield Community Centre – Cornhill, Jarrow NE32 4QD

Wed 8 June 2pm – 5pm Lukes Lane Community Centre – Marine Drive, Hebburn NE31 2BA

Mon 13 June 4pm – 7pm Whitburn Library – Mill Lane, Whitburn SR6 7EN

Thurs 16 June 4pm – 7pm East Boldon Library – Boker Lane, East Boldon NE36 0RY

Tues 21 June 5pm – 7pm Hedworthfield Community Centre – Cornhill, Jarrow NE32 4QD

Sat 25 June 12noon – 4pm South Shields Charity Fayre – Bents Park, South Shields

Mon 27 June 6pm – 8pm Hebburn Central – Glen Street, Hebburn NE31 1AB

Tues 28 June 10am – 12 noon Perth Green Community Centre – Inverness Road, Jarrow NE32 4AQ

For more information visit www.southtyneside.gov.uk/planyourborough