Am I bothered? Matt Ritchie reveals his thoughts on THAT bizarre penalty decision

Matt Ritchie

Matt Ritchie

0
Have your say

Matt Ritchie has given his view on Keith Stroud's penalty blunder.

Stroud has apologised for not ordering a retake after Dwight Gayle encroached into the box when Ritchie took a penalty in last night's win over Burton Albion at St James's Park.

The referee instead awarded a free-kick to the visiting team.

Ritchie eventually won the game for the Championship leaders with a superb second-half strike.

And the winger, outstanding for United this season, has spoken about the incident, which enraged him, his team-mates and manager Rafa Benitez at the time.

Asked what had happened, the 27-year-old said: "I'm not too sure. I was just concentrating on putting the penalty in the back of the net.

"The referee's decided to give an indirect free-kick. What it's for, I'm not too sure.

"Quite frankly I'm not that bothered, because we got the three points."

Ritchie was celebrating his successfull penalty when Stroud, inexplicably, awarded a free-kick to Nigel Clough's side.

"For me, I thought if there was players in the box, you have to retake the penalty," Ritchie told BBC Radio Newcastle. "I thought that was going to be the outcome.

"The thing that was worrying was that it took so long to come to a decision.

"But that's not for us to discuss. I'm happy we got three points. How it's come is pleasing. We had to dig deep and stay together.

"We created chances against a resolute back five. At times it was a wall of 10, and we broke it down in the end."

Ritchie, signed from Bournemouth, broke the deadlock in the 68th-minute and there was no taking away the stunning strike, his 15th of the campaign.

"All goals are important," he said. "You like to score when it's a winning performance.

It's fantastic to be on the scoresheet again. I'm really enjoying it.

"We were fantastic as a team and moved the ball well. I thought we controlled the game throughout."