1970s heart-throb David Essex announces 'final' UK tour, including North East date

David Essex has announced a UK tour which he says could be his last.
David Essex has announced a UK tour which he says could be his last.
0
Have your say

Seventies pop heart-throb David Essex has announced his first UK tour in four years, including a date in the North East - and it could be his last.

The internationally renowned singer, composer and actor is embarking on a 21-date tour, including a show at Newcastle City Hall on Friday, November 11.

David Essex performing in his 1970s heyday.

David Essex performing in his 1970s heyday.

He will perform much-loved hits spanning his 50-year career, and said: "I'm looking forward to getting back on the road with my band for probably my final concert tour. I'll be missing you."

Essex first shot to fame when he went to an audition for the London production of the musical Godspell and was chosen by enthusiastic US producers for the role of Jesus.

He received major awards and some ecstatic reviews which saw him lead a cast at the Roundhouse and then at the West End for two years.

Since then he has enjoyed a remarkable career that has combined concerts, records, theatre, composing, films and television.

He has written, recorded and produced albums that have sold millions of copies worldwide.

He’s also had 23 Top 30 singles in Britain alone. These include the Grammy-nominated Rock On which not only topped the charts in Britain and the USA but sold over a million copies.

Subsequent singles followed such as Lamplight, Hold Me Close and Gonna Make You A Star, which made Essex a household name.

Mayhem ensued throughout the UK, with crowds for his concerts resembling Beatlemania and traffic stopping whenever he appeared.

He has continued to produce and write albums to this day, including 2013’s Reflections and has contributed to stage and screen with the likes of Silver Dream Machine taken from Silver Dream Racer, in which he starred.

Acting credits include That'll Be The Day, its sequel Stardust, Traveller, The Guvnors, Black Prince and more recently BBC TV's EastEnders as the head of the Moon family.

Theatre credits include outstanding performances in Evita, Boogie Nights 2, Footloose, Andrew Lloyd Webber's Aspects Of Love, plus his own musicals Mutiny! and All The Fun Of The Fair.

Essex, who's now 68, is currently appearing at London’s Dominion Theatre in the stage version The War Of The Worlds as The Voice Of Humanity until April 30.

It is the first time since he recorded on the original double album in 1978 that he has appeared with the production.

David Essex is the only artiste in the world to have achieved success in all areas of entertainment and this tour will celebrate just that.

Tickets for the November UK tour go on sale on Friday, April 8, at 10am via www.gigsandtours.com and www.ticketmaster.co.uk

The full tour dates are:

Wed 2 Nov Manchester Bridgewater Hall

Thu 3 Nov Cardiff St David’s Hall

Sat 5 Nov Nottingham Royal Concert Hall

Sun 6 Nov Sheffield City Hall

Mon 7 Nov Southampton Mayflower Theatre

Tue 8 Nov Birmingham Symphony Hall

Thu 10 Nov Leicester De Montfort Hall

Fri 11 Nov Newcastle Theatre Royal

Sat 12 Nov Hull City Hall

Sun 13 Nov Glasgow Kings Theatre

Tue 15 Nov Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Wed 16 Nov Ipswich Regent

Thu 17 Nov Southend Cliff Pavilion

Fri 18 Nov Bournemouth International Centre

Sun 20 Nov London Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Mon 21 Nov Bristol Colston Hall

Tue 22 Nov Oxford New Theatre

Thu 24 Nov Stoke Regent Theatre

Fri 25 Nov Harrogate International Centre

Sat 26 Nov Blackpool Opera House

Sun 27 Nov Wolverhampton Civic Hall