South Tyneside Young Performers of the Year contestants in action - VIDEO

NINETEEN acts were aiming to impress the judges at the Young Performer of the Year show at the Customs House, South Shields, on Sunday.

In a bid to be crowned Young Performer of the Year in this year’s Pride of South Tyneside Awards, the contestants did what they do best – entertained.

Entertained ... the audience at the Young Performers show.

Entertained ... the audience at the Young Performers show.

The annual awards, organised by the Gazette, the Customs House and South Tyneside Council, aim to celebrate the best of the borough.

A panel of judges will choose a shortlist of three contestants, who will perform again at the Pride of South Tyneside Awards ceremony on Sunday, April 22, at Temple Park Centre, South Shields.

Judge Gazette editor John Szymanski said: “I’ve seen all the acts over the last 10 years, and can say without doubt that this is the strongest group of young performers we’ve ever seen.

“Each and every act was top quality, and if you don’t believe me, see for yourself.”

The running order is:

Lily Brooke Widdowson.

Hope Billie Swan.

Liam Malcolm.

Laura Roberts.

Abi Garrido.

James Bassett.

Olivia Davies.

Samantha Hancock.

Sarah Ryan.

Annabel Pattinson.

Eve Simpson,

James de Lauch Hay.

Bethany Duncan.

Lewis Harley.

Rebecca Hancock.

Stevie Tennet.

Taylor Bellerby.

Jessica Wood.

La Voix.