New Mayor of South Tyneside announced

South Tyneside has a new Mayor.

By The Newsroom
Wednesday, 18th May 2016, 12:58 pm
Updated Wednesday, 18th May 2016, 2:06 pm
The new Mayor of South Tyneside, Coun Alan Smith, with Mayoress Coun Moira Smith
The new Mayor of South Tyneside, Coun Alan Smith, with Mayoress Coun Moira Smith

The chains of office are now held by Coun Alan Smith who represents the Fellgate and Hedworth ward.

Coun Smith was presented with his chains by outgoing Mayor, Coun Richard Porthouse, at the Mayor Making ceremony in Jarrow Town Hall.

Coun Smith, who served as Deputy Mayor last year, is retired and is the Chair of governors at Clervaux Nursery School and Hedworthfield Primary School and the Vice Chair of governors at St Joseph’s RC Primary School. He is also a member of the South Tyneside Citizens Advice Bureau Management Committee.

Coun Moira Smith takes on the role of Mayoress for a second time following her year in the civic office supporting former councillor Linda Waggott in 2003. The new Mayoress is retired and is a governor of Hedworthfield Primary School. The couple have two sons and one daughter, four grandchildren and another on the way.

The Mayor said: "I am thrilled to be taking on the role of Mayor. It is a privilege to have the opportunity to represent the borough and I am looking forward to a great mayoral year ahead with support from my wife Councillor Moira Smith, who will be representing the borough as Mayoress for the second time.

"As Mayor I will be promoting the importance of education and positive experiences for young people to help them develop the necessary skills they will need in adult life. I am looking forward to inviting schools into Jarrow Town Hall and meeting some of the wonderful and inspirational people who live in the borough.

"I would like to thank the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Richard Porthouse and his wife Patricia, for all their support throughout their mayoral year."

At the meeting, the following Cabinet appointments were made, with councillors given responsibility:

Resources and Innovation – Coun Ed Malcolm

Regeneration and Economy – Coun John Anglin

Housing and Transport – Coun Alan West

Area Management and Community Safety – Coun Moira Smith

Children, Young People and Families – Coun Joan Atkinson

Independence and Wellbeing – Coun Tracey Dixon

Voluntary Sector, Partnerships and Co-operatives – Coun Nancy Maxwell