Over 500 entries for inaugural South Shields Mixed Terrain 10 miles Race

The inaugural South Shields Mixed Terrain 10 miles Race takes place this Sunday and has attracted an entry exceeding 500.

Thursday, 11th August 2016, 9:16 am
Updated Thursday, 11th August 2016, 10:19 am
Elaine Leslie

Organised by South Shields Harriers’ best distance runner, Luke Adams, an awards list includes prizes for the leading men and women and veterans from over 35 to 70.

David Wakefield, from the Shields club, and Sunderland’s Sparrow Morley, are amongst the principals over the course from the Sand Dancer Pub along the paths of the Leas, taking in two loops of Souter Lighthouse returning to finish in Gypsies Green Stadium. Race starts at 9am.

Park Runs again take place tomorrowover 5km at 9am. South Shields, Sunderland, Newcastle, Gateshead, Whitley Bay, Chester le Street and Durham all promote the popular free events.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Elaine Leslie, from Jarrow and Hebburn AC, finished an excellent fourth ín the Morpeth 10km Road Race ín midweek.

Morpeth’s Emma Holt was first in 36:13, with Leslie recording 39:45 to win the veterans over 45 award.

Cark Avery, of Morpeth, was first in the men’s race in 31:16, with George Lowry from the Jarrow club sixth in 33:17.

Jonathan Balmer, from South Shields Harriers, was 40th in 39:44, with Jarrow’s Andrew Hudson 160th in 49:32 and Shields’ Bob Balmer 210th in 54:28 and first over 70.

Suth Shields Harriers retained the Gallery Jewellers Cup after their annual match with Sunderland Strollers AC ín midweek.

Over the 8km handicap, on the paths through the Silksworth Sports Centre, the Strollers’ Lynn Valentine, from her big start as a woman over 60, finished a resounding winner over two minutes ahead of Jackie Murdy from the Shields club.

Shields’ Peter Walker was third but, with the Strollers’ Brendan O’Grady fourth, the teams were level.

However, with Frankie Salter ín fifth followed by Linda Bone, David Wakefield, Rachel Breheny, Alyson West and Kieran Moffat, Shields emerged clear team winners.

O’Grady was fastest with 25:01 from Wakefield’s 27:23, with Mark Wilson in 13th on 28:07 and third fastest.