Wales name Sunderland and Newcastle United defenders in pre-Euro 2016 training camp

Wales boss Chris Coleman has announced a squad of 29 players for a pre-Euro 2016 training camp.

Monday, 9th May 2016, 3:18 pm
Updated Monday, 9th May 2016, 4:21 pm
Sunderland's Adam Matthews is in the squad

And Sunderland right-back Adam Matthews and Newcastle United left-back Paul Dummett are both included in the squad.

Matthews, who signed a four-year deal after moving from Celtic for £2million last summer, has been out on loan at Bristol City.

Paul Dummett

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The training camp will be held in Portugal from May 23.

Coleman will name the 23 players who will represent Wales at UEFA EURO 2016 on 31 May before playing Sweden in Stockholm on 5 June for an international friendly.

The squad will then leave immediately for its Team Base Camp in Dinard, Brittany, where they will prepare for their opening game of the tournament against Slovakia in Bordeaux on 11 June.

Wales will then play England in Lens on 11 June and travel to Toulouse for the match against Russia on 20 June.

Paul Dummett

The party does not include Gareth Bale, who will be preparing for Real Madrid's Champions League final with neighbours Atletico Madrid in Milan on May 28.

Wales had originally planned to name the squad at 11am on Monday, but the announcement was delayed by four hours to check on injured players.


Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace) Daniel Ward (Liverpool) Owain Fôn Williams (Inverness Caledonian Thistle)

Ashley Williams (Swansea City) James Chester (West Bromwich Albion) Ben Davies (Tottenham Hotspur) James Collins (West Ham United) Chris Gunter (Reading) Adam Matthews (Sunderland) Neil Taylor (Swansea City) Adam Henley (Blackburn Rovers) Paul Dummett (Newcastle United) Ashley Richards (Fulham)

Joe Ledley (Crystal Palace) Joe Allen (Liverpool) David Vaughan (Nottingham Forest) Emyr Huws (Wigan Athletic) Jonathan Williams (Crystal Palace) David Edwards (Wolverhampton Wanderers) George Williams (Fulham) Aaron Ramsey (Arsenal) Andy King (Leicester City)

David Cotterill (Birmingham City) Hal Robson-Kanu (Reading) Tom Lawrence (Leicester City) Simon Church (Milton Keynes Dons) Sam Vokes (Burnley) Wes Burns (Bristol City) Tom Bradshaw (Walsall)