Christian Atsu and Ayoze Perez named in Newcastle's starting XI

Aleksandar Mitrovic
Aleksandar Mitrovic

Rafa Benitez has named his starting XI for Newcastle United's game against Bristol City.

Benitez's league leading side take on the Championship strugglers at St James's Park this afternoon (3pm kick-off).

Aleksandar Mitrovic, Christian Atsu and Ayoze Perez come into the side in place of Dwight Gayle, Yoan Gouffran and Mohamed Diame.

LIVE: Newcastle United v Bristol City – updates, as they happen, from this afternoon's Championship clash at St James's Park

Gayle is sidelined because of a hamstring problem.

Newcastle lead second-placed Brighton and Hove Albion by a point.

NEWCASTLE UNITED: Darlow; Yedlin, Lascelles, Clark, Dummett; Shelvey, Colback; Ritchie, Perez, Atsu; Mitrovic. Subs: Elliot, Gamez, Hanley, Anita, Gouffran, Diame, Murphy.

BRISTOL CITY: Giefer, Vyner, Flint, Wright, Bryan, Cotterill, O'Neil, Reid, K.Smith, O'Dowda, Wilbraham. Subs: Fielding, Tomlin, Taylor, Paterson, Pack, Magnusson, Hegeler.