Newcastle confirm 25-man Premier League squad

Jack Colback.
Jack Colback.

Jack Colback has been named in Newcastle United’s 25-man Premier League squad – after the club failed to strengthen on deadline day.

The midfielder had been told by Rafa Benitez earlier this month that he was not in his plans and unlikely to make his squad.

However, the club’s failure to sign a single player on transfer deadline day forced a rethink.

And Colback’s name was on the list submitted to the Premier League yesterday.

There was loan interest in Colback from a number of Championship clubs, including Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Colback was also reportedly offered to former club Sunderland late in the transfer window.

However, a move didn’t materialise.

And Colback – who has two years left on his United contract – may not have played his last game for the club.

The 27-year-old joined as a free agent in the summer of 2014 after leaving Sunderland.

Midfielder Yasin Ben El-Mhanni, however, missed out on a place in the club’s Premier League squad.

The 21-year-old, still eligible to play in cup games, is too old to be included in the Under-21 squad.

25 Squad players (*=Home grown)

Aarons, Rolando*

Clark, Ciaran*

Colback, Jack Raymond*

Darlow, Karl*

Diame, Mohamed

Dummett, Paul*

Elliot, Robert*

Gamez Duarte, Jesus

Gayle, Dwight Devon Boyd*

Gutierrez, Ayoze Perez

Haidara, Massadio

Hayden, Isaac Scot*

Lascelles, Jamaal*

Lejeune, Florian Gregoire Claude

Manquillo Gaitan, Javier

Mato Sanmartin, Jose Luis

Mbemba, Chancel Mangulu

Mitrovic, Aleksander

Murphy, Jacob Kai*

Ritchie, Matthew Thomas*

Saivet, Henri

Shelvey, Jonjo*

Sterry, Jamie Michael*

Twasam, Christian Atsu

Yedlin, Deandre

Under-21 players (Contract and Scholars)

Allan, Thomas David

Allen, Max

Aplin, Kieren Glen

Armstrong, Adam James

Aziakonou, Yannick

Bailey, Owen John Edward

Barlaser, Daniel Tan

Barrett, Ryan Thomas

Bartlett, Tyrique

Cameron, Kyle Milne

Cass, Lewis Graham

Charman, Luke

Cole, Thomas Anthony

Cumbreras, Jesus Nunez

Fernandez Satue, Victor

Gallacher, Owen John

Gamblin, Isaac William

Gibson, Liam Steven

Gilliead, Alex Nicholas

Goodridge, Mace Lewin

Harker, Nathan

Heaney, Mackenzie

Hunter, Jack David

Huuhtanen, Otto Eemeli

Joyce, Samuel Edward

Kitchen, Benjamin

Long, Oliver James

Longstaff, Matthew Ben

Longstaff, Sean David

Madia, Deese Kasinga

McNall, Lewis

Merino Zazon, Mikel

Newberry, Michael

O’Connor, Stefan Ramone Sewell

Pearson, Brendan Conor

Roberts, Callum

Robson, Jack

Russell, Kurtis

Sangare, Mohammed

Smith, Callum

Sorensen, Elias Fritjof Graenge

Spooner, Craig

Toney, Ivan Benjamin Elijah

Walters, Oliver Reece

Ward, Daniel John

Watts, Kelland John William James

Williams, Callum Dylan

Wilson, Adam Ayiro

Woodman, Frederick John

Woolston, Paul Hudson

Yarney, Josef Charles

Young, Jack