Newcastle make NINE changes for the visit of Northampton Town in the Capital One Cup

Newcastle United manager Steve McClaren (right) with Jack Colback
Newcastle United manager Steve McClaren (right) with Jack Colback

Steve McClaren has made nine changes for tonight’s Capital One Cup second round clash against Northampton Town.

Just Ayoze Perez and Massadio Haidara survive from the team that drew with Manchester United at the weekend.

McClaren has handed starts to Siem De Jong, who captains the side, new £13million signing Florian Thauvin and Cheick Tiote.

Meanwhile, Karl Darlow gets the nod in goal, with Rob Elliot on the bench.

Paul Dummett returns from injury to take his place on the bench, alongside Ivan Toney, who signed for Newcastle from Northampton in the summer.

Newcastle (4-2-3-1): Karl Darlow; Daryl Janmaat, Jamaal Lascelles, Mike Williamson, Massadio Haidara; Cheick Tiote, Yoan Gouffran; Rolando Aarons, Siem de Jong (c), Florian Thauvin; Ayoze Perez

Subs: Rob Elliot, Paul Dummett, Chancel Mbemba, Jack Colback, Georginio Wijnaldum, Ivan Toney, Aleksandar Mitrovic

Northampton: Ryan Clarke, Jason Taylor, Ryan Cresswell, Joel Byrom, Marc Richards (C), Nicky Adams, Alfie Potter, David Buchanan, Rod McDonald, Ryan Watson, Adam Yates.

Subs: Adam Smith, Lawson D’Ath, Sam Hoskins, Paul Corry, Dominic Calvert-Lewin, John-Joe O’Toole, Chris Hackett.

Referee: David Coote (Nottinghamshire)