Newcastle's Jamaal Lascelles named in PFA Championship Team of the Year

Jamaal Lascelles
Jamaal Lascelles

Three Newcastle United players have been named in the Professional Footballers' Association's Championship Team of the Year.

The PFA today revealed its team of the season.

And Newcastle captain Jamaal Lascelles is in the XI along with Jonjo Shelvey and Dwight Gayle.

Midfielder Shelvey was outstanding in the first half of the season, while striker Gayle is the club's leading scorer with 22 Championship goals.

But there's no place in the PFA team for winger Matt Ritchie, arguably the club's most consistent performer.

Ritchie is the club's second-top scorer in the league with 11 goals.

Second-placed Newcastle trail leaders Brighton and Hove Albion by seven points with three games left to play.

United are six points in front of third-placed Reading and a further point ahead of Huddersfield Town, who have a game in hand.

PFA Championship Team of the Year:

Goalkeeper: David Stockdale (Brighton and Hove Albion)

Defenders: Bruno Saltor (Brighton and Hove Albion), Lewis Dunk (Brighton and Hove Albion), Jamaal Lascelles (Newcastle United), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)

Midfielders: Tom Cairney (Fulham), Anthony Knockaert (Brighton and Hove Albion), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town), Jonjo Shelvey (Newcastle United)

Forwards: Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United), Chris Wood (Leeds United)