Newcastle v Arsenal: Moussa Sissoko, Florian Thauvin and Daryl Janmaat all start

Newcastle United's Moussa Sissoko starts against Arsenal
Newcastle United's Moussa Sissoko starts against Arsenal

Moussa Sissoko and Florian Thauvin both start for Newcastle United against Arsenal this lunchtime.

Sissoko has sufficiently recovered from a groin strain which has kep him out of the past two matches to start against the Gunners at St James’s Park (KO 12.45pm).

French winger Thauvin will also make his full Premier League debut after starring in the 4-1 Capital One Cup win over Northampton Town in midweek.

Daryl Janmaat returns from a one-match league ban to take his place at right-back, with Chancel Mbemba and Fabricio Coloccini the central defensive pairing.

That means Steven Taylor drops down to the bench, and there is no place in the squad for Rolando Aarons.

Arsene Wenger has opted for Theo Walcott up front, with Olivier Giroud dropped to the bench, while Laurent Koscielny starts despite being a major injury doubt.

Newcastle United (4-2-3-1): Tim Krul; Daryl Janmaat, Chancel Mbemba, Fabricio Coloccini (c), Massadio Haidara; Vurnon Anita, Jack Colback; Moussa Sissoko, Georginio Wijnaldum, Florian Thauvin; Aleksandar Mitrovic

Subs: Karl Darlow, Steven Taylor, Cheick Tiote, Siem de Jong, Gabriel Obertan, Ayoze Perez, Papiss Cisse

Arsenal (4-2-3-1): Petr Cech; Hector Bellerin, Gabriel, Laurent Koscielny, Nacho Monreal; Francis Coquelin, Santi Cazorla (c); Aaron Ramsey, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Alexis Sanchez; Theo Walcott

Subs: David Ospina, Mathieu Debuchy, Kieran Gibbs, Calum Chambers, Mikel Arteta, Joel Campbell, Olivier Giroud

Referee: Andre Marriner (West Midlands)