Rafa Benitez surprises everyone with Newcastle team for Wigan

Dwight Gayle and Jonjo Shelvey
Dwight Gayle and Jonjo Shelvey

Rafa Benitez has named an unchanged Newcastle United side for tonight's game against Wigan Athletic.

Benitez, for the first time this season, has opted NOT to change his team.

The two clubs face each other in the Championship at the DW Stadium (7.45pm kick-off).

And United's manager has fielded the same starting XI that beat Birmingham City 4-0 at St James's Park on Saturday.

Newcastle are two points behind league leaders Brighton and Hove Albion, who beat Blackburn Rovers at Ewood Park last night.

NEWCASTLE UNITED: Darlow; Anita, Lascelles, Clark, Dummett; Shelvey, Hayden; Ritchie, Diame, Gouffran; Gayle. Subs: Sels, Yedlin, Lazaar, Mbemba, Atsu, Perez, Mitrovic.

WIGAN ATHLETIC: Jaaskelainen, Garbutt, Warnock, Buxton, Morgan, Power, MacDonald, Perkins, Jacobs, Wildschut, Grigg. Subs: Lavercombe, Byrne, Le Fondre, Kellett, Gomez, Davies, Burn.