Stunned John Carver’s verdict on Ahmed Elmohamady’s ‘blatant’ handball

NO GOAL ... Ahmed Elmohamady and Steve Bruce, left.
NO GOAL ... Ahmed Elmohamady and Steve Bruce, left.

JOHN Carver says he didn’t need his 20-20 vision to know Ahmed Elmohamady’s had directed the ball into the net with his hand.

Elmohamady’s effort in Newcastle United’s 3-0 win over Hull City was chalked off by referee Phil Dowd, who booked the ex-Sunderland player.

The 27-year-old – who had celebrated wildy after the ball hit the back of the net – protested to Dowd after it was disallowed.

Newcastle head coach Carver said: “I thought he almost caught it! It was blatantly obvious from where I was that it was a handball.

“I said straightaway it was a handball – and my eyes are fanatastic. I’ve got 20-20 vision!”

Hull manager Steve Bruce said: “I’m not sure it’s cheating. He knows he can’t head it because it’s too high for him.”