WATCH: YouTube stars May Arcade perform at Johnston Press Awards

YOUTUBE sensations May Arcade gave a ‘belter’ of a performance at the Johnston Press Awards.

The event saw a host of journalists and sales staff from across the country gather to celebrate achievements at news titles spread across the UK, including the Sunderland Echo, Shields Gazette and Hartlepool Mail.

Sophie Vaughan and Leanne Orr – better known as May Arcade – sprang to fame when their Geordie versions of hit songs became a hit on video sharing site YouTube.

And they were even better live at Oulton Hall in Leeds, where they provided plenty of laughs during the night.

There was plenty to smile about for the North East contingent as the Sunderland Echo won an award for fan engagement after SAFC’s fourth derby win in a row and Shields Gazette writer Verity Ward picked up the award for story of the year.

May Arcade first shot to fame two years ago with their first track Call Me Da’lin, a Geordie cover of Carly Rae Jepsen’s Call Me Maybe, which went viral with four million hits on You Tube.

Just before Christmas they released a northern version of the song Let It Go from the Disney Movie Frozen, and that’s been seen by 208,000 people.

The girls will be releasing a new song in the next few weeks, for all of their fans to enjoy.

Sophie added: “It’s just all up in the air at the moment. “We will be recording a video, like our others, but everything is happening at once. We haven’t got an official date just yet – but it will be soon.”

Full list of winners and runners up at the Johnston Press Awards:

A shot from the video of May Arcade's performace at the Johnston Press Awards.

A shot from the video of May Arcade's performace at the Johnston Press Awards.

1. Title of the Year – Daily

Winner - The Yorkshire Post

Runner Up - The News, Portsmouth

2. Title of the Year - Small Weekly

Winner- Lytham St Annes Express

Runner Up - Eastbourne Herald

3. Title of the Year - Large Weekly

Winner - Harrogate Advertiser

Runner Up - Whitby Gazette

4. Publishing Unit of the Year

Winner – Yorkshire

Runner Up – Media Sales Centre

5. Best Publishing Unit Sales Team

Winner - West Yorkshire

Runner Up - South

6. Chief Executive Award

Winners - Carol Derbyshire and Karen Waggot

Runners Up - Alan Helm, Anne Reynolds, Duncan Chappell, Jemma Rudkin and Rebekah Avill

7. Brand of the Year

Winner - Digital Kitbag

8. Editorial Team of the Year

Winner - The Yorkshire Post

Runner Up - Newsroom of the Future Pilot

9. Journalist of the Year - Daily

Winner - Chris Burn - The Star, Sheffield

Runner Up - Sam Bannister - The News, Portsmouth

10. Journalist of the Year - Weekly

Winner - Andy Done-Johnson - Mansfield Chad

Runner Up - Neil Henderson - Glenrothes Gazette

11. Trainee Journalist of the Year

Winners - Oliver Poole - Worthing Herald

Runner Up - James Illingworth - Wigan Evening Post and Wigan Observer

12. Sports Journalist of the Year

Winner - Chris Holt - The Star, Sheffield

Runner Up - Jordan Cross - The News, Portsmouth

13. Editorial Design of the Year

Winner - Kirstie Lorimer

Runner Up - Will Bond

14. Feature Writer of the Year

Winner - Aasma Day - Lancashire Evening Post

Runner Up - Scott McAngus - Falkirk Herald

15. Photograph of the Year

Winner - Steve Riding

Runner Up - Jonathan Gawthorpe

16. Story of the Year

Winner - Text From The Grave - Verity Ward

Runners Up - Dog Ate My Face - Aasma Day and Kings Science Academy - John Roberts

17. Sales Team of the Year (Property)

Winner - South Anglia

Runner Up - West Yorkshire

18. Sales Team of the Year (Motors)

Winner - West Yorkshire

Runner Up – The Scotsman Publications Ltd

19. Sales Team of the Year (Jobs)

Winner - Inbound Recruitment - Sheffield Media Sales Centre

Runner Up - North Field Sales Team

20. Sales Team of the Year (Local Display & Features)

Winners - JP South Display and Yorkshire Retail teams

Runner Up - MK Sales Team

21. Best Sales Agent (Media Sales Centre)

Winner - Ben Farina

Runner Up - Dan Buckley

22. Best Sales Manager / Team Leader

Winner - Susannah Shields

Runner Up - Eve Hanson

23. Best Supporting Role in the Business

Winner - Editorial Learning and Development

Runner Up - Creative Services (Preston)

24. Commercial Creative Award

Winner - Creative Services (Preston)

Runner Up - Kerry Lockley (Dirt Bike Rider)

25. Customer Service Award

Winner - Jackie Casey

Runner Up - Media Sales Centre Quality Team

26. Best Use of Video

Winner - The Star, Sheffield, Editorial Team

Runner Up - Jane Coltman

27. Best Use of Social Media

Winner - Edinburgh Evening News

Runner Up - The Star, Sheffield

28. Initiative of the Year

Winners - Mission Poppable - Media Sales Centre and Reverse Publishing of Jobs

29. Best Digital Kitbag Performance

Winner - Wayne Wassell

Runner Up - Ben Troman

30. Deal of the Year

Winner - Print Central Team

31. Best Tactical Sales Initiative

Winner - Northern Ireland Newspaper Sales Team

Runner Up - Salon of the Year - Yorkshire

32. One Step Beyond Award

Winners - Megs Senior, John Fieldhouse, IT Services

33. Collaboration Award

Winner - Apprentice Scheme - Media Sales Centre

Runner Up - Reverse Publishing of Jobs

34. Innovation Award

Winner - Reverse Publishing of Jobs

35. Community Engagement Award

Winner - Phil Hewitt - Chichester Observer

Runner Up - Northamptonshire Telegraph Editorial Team

36. Campaign of the Year

Winner - Loneliness: The Hidden Epidemic - Yorkshire

Runner Up - Shop Local/Business Rates - Blaise Tapp

37. Audience Engagement Award

Winner - Sunderland Echo