Daryl Murphy and Achraf Lazaar handed Newcastle debuts against Wolves

Rafa Benitez has named his team for tonight's EFL Cup tie against Wolverhampton Wanderers.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 20th September 2016, 5:46 pm
Updated Tuesday, 4th October 2016, 1:15 pm
Daryl Murphy
Daryl Murphy

Newcastle United take on Walter Zenga's side in a third-round tie (7.45pm kick-off) three days after losing to them in the Championship.

Wolves won 2-0 on Saturday thanks to an own goal from Chancel Mbemba and a strike from Helder Costa.

United manager Benitez – whose side beat Cheltenham Town in the last round of the EFL Cup – has made a number of changes for the rematch.

As expected, striker Daryl Murphy and left-back Achraf Lazaar make their Newcastle debuts in the tie.

Karl Darlow starts in goal, while Grant Hanley and Ciaran Clark are partnered in central defence.

NEWCASTLE UNITED: Darlow; Yedlin, Hanley, Clark, Lazaar; Shelvey, Colback; Ritchie, Diame, Gouffran; Murphy. Subs: Woodman, Dummett, Lascelles, Hayden, Atsu, Perez, Mitrovic.

WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS: Lonergan; Silvio, Iorfa, Hause, Borthwick-Jackson; Coady, Teixeira, Saville; Mason, Gladon, Wallace. Subs: Ikeme, Batth, Doherty, John, Price, Oniangue, Bodvarsson