Brits nomination for South Shields' Little Mix stars Jade Thirlwall and Perrie Edwards

South Shields stars Jade Thirlwall and Perrie Edwards are celebrating after they were nominated for one of the biggest music awards in the country.
(from left) Perrie, Leigh-Anne and Jade open their nomination envelope(from left) Perrie, Leigh-Anne and Jade open their nomination envelope
(from left) Perrie, Leigh-Anne and Jade open their nomination envelope

The pair and bandmate Leigh-Anne Pinnock shared a video of themselves screaming in excitement after opening a card to say their group Little Mix has been nominated for the Brit Award for British Group.

The band is now a trio following the departure of Jesy Nelson at the end of last year.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Today’s news comes the day after millions tuned in to Jade named Star Baker in Celebrity Bake off.

The nominations were announced by Nick Grimshaw and this year’s rising star winner Griff across the Brit Awards social media channels today, Wednesday, March 31.

Jack Whitehall is returning for a fourth time to host the awards show, which is due to take place on May 11 at London’s O2 Arena.

The awards are voted for by around 1,500 people from across the UK music industry including journalists, record label employees and musicians.

The nominees in full:

Female solo artist

Arlo Parks


Dua Lipa

Jessie Ware

Lianne la Havas

Male solo artist

AJ Tracey

Headie One

J Hus

Joel Corry


British group


Biffy Clyro

Little Mix

The 1975

Young T & Bugsey

Breakthrough artist

Arlo Parks



Joel Corry

Young T & Bugsey

British single

Don’t Need Love – 220 Kid and Gracey

Rain – Aitch and AJ Tracey featuring Tay Keith

Physical – Dua Lipa

Watermelon Sugar – Harry Styles

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Ain’t It Different – Headie One featuring AJ Tracey and Stormzy.

Head & Heart – Joel Corry featuring MNEK

Lighter – Nathan Dawe featuring KSI

Secrets – Regard and Raye

Rover – S1mba featuring DTG

Don’t Rush – Young T & Bugsey featuring Headie One.


Collapsed In Sunbeams – Arlo Parks

Not Your Muse – Celeste

Future Nostalgia – Dua Lipa

Big Conspiracy – J Hus

What’s Your Pleasure? – Jessie Ware

International female solo artist

Ariana Grande

Billie Eilish

Cardi B

Miley Cyrus

Taylor Swift

International male solo artist

Bruce Springsteen

Burna Boy

Childish Gambino

Tame Impala

The Weeknd

International group


Fontaines DC

Foo Fighters


Run The Jewels

Brits Rising Star (Winner previously announced)


Support your Gazette and become a subscriber today. Enjoy unlimited access to local news, the latest football stories and new puzzles every day. With a digital subscription, you can see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Click here to subscribe.