Rafa Benitez reacts to Wayne Rooney's unpunished '˜elbow' on Matt Ritchie
everton star Rooney – who scored the only goal of Wednesday’s game – appeared to catch Ritchie in the face with his elbow.
The incident happened in front of referee Martin Atkinson. However, the official – who dismissed United midfielder Jonjo Shelvey late in the game for two bookable offences – didn’t punish Rooney.
Asked about the incident, United manager Benitez said: “Yes, I saw that. I saw both. I thought maybe I was the only one that saw that.”
Benitez wouldn’t be drawn on whether he felt Rooney deserved a red card.
“I will not talk about that,” said Benitez. “It doesn’t change anything.
“OK, I saw the incident. The referee decides nothing. That’s it.”
Meanwhile, Shelvey, sent off against Tottenham Hotspur on the opening weekend of the season, has picked up an automatic two-game ban.
Asked if he was angry with Shelvey, Benitez said: “No, not at the end, as the second yellow can happen during a game.
“It was a counter-attack. It was in the last minute, and you go to the floor to stop it. That can happen.
“I didn’t like the first booking when I looked back at it.
“But it’s something you can’t control. I have talked to him and he knows it’s a mistake and (he) has to learn.”