Carabao Cup: Draw details and ball numbers revealed for Newcastle United, Leeds & Co

Newcastle United head to Tranmere Rovers tonight targeting a place in the third round of the Carabao Cup.

And it has been confirmed the round three draw of the Carabao Cup will take place live on Sky Sports tonight after the conclusion of Tranmere Rovers v Newcastle United.

An EFL statement read: “Former England international John Barnes who won the competition in 1995 with Liverpool and played for Newcastle United in the latter part of his career will conduct the draw alongside Tranmere Rovers legend John Aldridge.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

"The Prenton Park favourite hung up his boots in 1998 with a remarkable 474 goals in 882 career appearances as well as a League Cup honour to his name after lifting the Cup with Oxford United in 1986.

Jordan Henderson of Liverpool lifts the Carabao Cup trophy following victory in the Carabao Cup Final match between Chelsea and Liverpool at Wembley Stadium on February 27, 2022. (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)

“The seven Premier League Clubs competing in Europe enter the competition in Round Three including last season’s winners Liverpool who also hold the record for the most League Cup titles with nine victories. Manchester City who have an illustrious history with the Carabao Cup also enter at this stage alongside Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur and West Ham United.”

Round Three ties will take place week commencing 7 November.

Jamal Lewis is in contention tonight.

Asked about Lewis, Howe said: "He’s a contender, but that’s a position where we have a lot of players currently, which is great to see, because that’s not always been the case. The majority of players are fit in that position.”

Matt Targett has missed the club’s last two games, but he had been “close” to being involved against Manchester City at St James’s Park on Sunday.

The key numbers to look out for:

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

1 AFC Bournemouth

2 Arsenal

3 Aston Villa

4 Blackburn Rovers

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

5 Brentford

6 Burnley

7 Charlton Athletic

8 Chelsea

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

9 Crawley Town

10 Crystal Palace

11 Derby County

12 Everton

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

13 Gillingham

14 Leicester City

15 Lincoln City

16 Liverpool

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

17 Manchester City

18 Manchester United

19 Milton Keynes Dons

20 Morecambe

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

21 Newport County

22 Nottingham Forest

23 Sheffield Wednesday

24 Southampton

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

25 Stevenage

26 Tottenham Hotspur

27 West Ham United

28 Wolverhampton Wanderers

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

29 Forest Green Rovers or Brighton & Hove Albion

30 Leeds United or Barnsley

31 Tranmere Rovers or Newcastle United

32 Wycombe Wanderers or Bristol City