Former Premier League referee gives clear verdict on James Maddison following Leicester City's controversial penalty against Newcastle United
Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has delivered his verdict on Leicester City’s penalty against Newcastle United.
The Foxes opened the scoring at The King Power Stadium after James Maddison was adjudged to have been tripped in the penalty area by Magpies skipper Jamaal Lascelles. Youri Tielemans converted from 12-yards.
Referee Peter Bankes pointed straight to the penalty spot despite replays showing the Leicester midfielder had made the most of the challenge.
The decision has sparked plenty of debate following the match with Gallagher quick to give his view on the decision.
Newcastle United suffering mini-defensive ‘injury crisis’ ahead of clash against Manchester City
Christian Pulisic transfer preference 'revealed' as Newcastle and Man United eye Chelsea star
Joao Pedro sell-on clause revealed as Newcastle United close in on Watford forward
Newcastle United ‘offered’ chance to sign PSG star as Manchester United ‘join race’ for Chelsea winger
Ex-referee delivers Newcastle United verdict on Callum Wilson's disallowed goal v Brighton
“For me, I think [Maddison] is very very lucky to be given a penalty,” he said on Sky Sports News. “No [I wouldn’t have given it].”
While Newcastle legend Alan Shearer suggested Maddison had dived, other ex-players have given him the benefit of the doubt.
Sky Sports pundit Stephen Warnock added: “The speed at which [Lascelles] goes in, I think he makes the referees mind up that it’s going to be a penalty.
“Is it clear and obvious? This is now becoming detrimental to the decisions. If you were going to do it for the actual incident and say you’ve been conned and say he’s gone down and dived into that situation then you’d go ‘reverse the decision then’ but we’re not, we’re going on clear and obvious which is what’s causing debates on decisions.”
Former England Women’s international Sue Smith felt the referee made the correct decision.
“I think it’s a penalty,” she said. “I think Maddison is clever, he sees the leg and is going down but I still think it’s a penalty and I still think Lascelles impedes him.”