Former Premier League referee delivers mixed verdict following controversy between Newcastle United and Chelsea

Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has provided his view on the two controversial incidents during Newcastle United’s late defeat to Chelsea.

Much of the fallout from the clash at Stamford Bridge has centred on the decisions to not show Kai Havertz a red card for an elbow on Dan Burn or to award Newcastle an early second-half penalty for Trevoh Chalobah’s foul on Jacob Murphy - and former referee Dermot Gallagher has provided his view on the two incidents:

Havertz elbow

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The decision to show Havertz a yellow card was the correct one - according to Gallagher.

“I agree [with the referee’s decision] for a number of reasons,” the former referee told Sky Sports Ref Watch. “If you look at it, both players have their arms up - Burn has his up as well.

“They’re challenging for the ball and so there is inevitably going to be a collision - there’s no doubt about that.“The key for me is, when I was being taught as a referee, when a player throws an elbow in malice, they’re going to clench their fist to force impact.

“If you look at Havertz, he never clenches his fist and it’s almost a flailing arm that catches him. I think it’s a yellow card.”

Murphy penalty

Jorginho of Chelsea and Jacob Murphy of Newcastle United interact as Bruno Guimaraes of Newcastle United is injured during the Premier League match between Chelsea and Newcastle United at Stamford Bridge (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

Whilst Gallagher doesn’t believe that eventual match-winner Havertz should have seen a red card for his challenge on Burn, he does admit that Newcastle should have been awarded a penalty:

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“[It’s a] penalty. He grabs his shirt, he trips him and shoves him.” Gallagher said.

“[The VAR’s] feeling was that they didn’t feel that the fall was commensurate with what happened on the field, but that’s probably because they looked at what happened with the upper body, rather than the lower body.

“The referee gives a corner, Chalobah doesn’t play the ball so it should have been a goal kick or a penalty. What the referee is saying is ‘I’ve given a corner so I’m telling everybody that I think Chalobah has played the ball’.

“So therefore, the VAR could have said to the referee ‘he didn't play the ball so you might want to go have a look at this’ and if he did go and have a watch and seen what we have seen then he would have given a penalty.”

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

A message from the Football Clubs Editor

Our aim is to provide you with the best, most up-to-date and most informative Newcastle United coverage 365 days a year.

This depth of coverage costs, so to help us maintain the high-quality reporting that you are used to, please consider taking out a subscription; sign up here.

Your support is much appreciated. Richard Mennear, Football Clubs Editor